County employees recognized for years of service

“I started working when I was 10,” joked Cindy Sims who took home honors for her 30 years of service to Culpeper County Tuesday morning. Photo by Anita Sherman



It’s not often that the board room at the county’s administration building is filled unless there is a public hearing or issue that has drawn in the crowds. But at least once a year there is an exception and that is when county employees are recognized for their years of service. Such was the case at the supervisor’s Tuesday morning gathering when 57 county employees were presented with certificates and pins.

“We couldn’t do the business of the county without them,” said county administrator John Egertson who was one of those recognized for his 25 year anniversary. Chairman Jack Frazier echoed those sentiments saying, “we value your service and thank you.”

Celebrated for five, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of service, those 57 employees represent a combined total of 735 years. Representing departments across the board from human services, the sheriff’s office, library, E911 and many others, staff, families and friends applauded as each stepped forward.

While an annual event, there were lots of smiles and moments of pride. Topping the list this year as the solo recipient for 30 years of service is Cindy Sims who works for Human Services.

Congratulations to all!

Five Years of Service

Patricia Baker        Sheriff’s Office

Dana Brumbelow Library

Amy Corbin Criminal Justice

Kathy Fulcher        Parks & Rec

Andrea         Fuller        E911

Anita Jackson-Potts Human Services

Paul Miller Airport

Richard Moylan E911

Sylvia Renninger Clerk of Court

Jeff Seation E911

Mike Shea Emergency Services

Jennie        Sherrill        Human Services

William        Smith Sheriff’s Office

Sabrina Ward        E911

Donna        Whitaker E911

Scott Yeiser Sheriff’s Office

10 Years of Service        


Loretta        Clatterbuck Animal Services

Bruce Cornwall Building

Brett Doe Criminal Justice

Kathy Gordon        Human Services

Walda Marsh Library

Nikki Shugars        Animal Services

Mike Skelton Parks & Rec

Toni Upton Commissioner of Revenue

Stephanie Voss Clerk of Court

Dana Washington Animal Services

Jonathon Weakley Environmental Services

Missy White Sheriff’s Office

Joe Williams Emergency Services

15 Years of Service


John Barrett Parks & Rec

Alan Culpeper        Procurement

Neil Drumheller Planning & Zoning

Paul Graham Sheriff’s Office

Warren        Jenkins Emergency Services

Valerie        Lamb Finance

Darlene Neff Human Services

Ana Ortiz Sheriff’s Office

Maria Rodriguez Sheriff’s Office

Theresa Settle        Treasurer

Beth Stanley Human Services

Becky Stockes Human Services

Alice Young Human Services

20 Years of Service


Jamie Bennett        Animal Services

Julie Bushong        Library

Diana Cmeyla        Library

Annie Corum Library

Derek Emmel Sheriff’s Office

Renee        Ford E911

James        Fox Sheriff’s Office

Deborah Gaulden Library

Sue Jenkins Library

Emily Williams        Library

25 Years of Service


John Egertson        Administration

Lisa Houck Human Services

Leann Schwake-Robertson Human Services

Tanya Woodward Airport

30 Years of Service

Cindy Sims Human Services



About Anita Sherman 145 Articles
Anita Sherman is the editor of the Culpeper Times. You may reach her at