Ahmed named 2015 Physician of the Year

Dr. Mirza Ahmed, a hospitalist with Novant Health UVA Health System Culpeper Medical Center, has been named the facility’s 2015 Physician of the Year. The award recognizes Ahmed’s bedside manner with patients, as well as his positive interactions with his colleagues. As a hospitalist, Ahmed specializes in the care of patients in the hospital.

“I am very thankful for all who nominated me for this award,” Ahmed said. “It was very rewarding and it gave me positive reinforcement to continue to work hard. My goal is to make sure all of my patients receive the best possible care.”

Culpeper Medical Center has given out the Physician of the Year award annually since 1989. Each year, hospital team members and physician offices are encouraged to nominate doctors who create a positive work environment and exemplify a commitment to patient care. A selection committee comprised of past Physician of the Year winners decides the winner. Ahmed was selected from 11 nominees in 2015.

“The Physician of the Year award was started to recognize a physician on the medical staff who had provided outstanding care and service to the hospital and community over the previous year,” said Dr. Tom Reynolds, chief medical officer of Culpeper Medical Center. “Dr. Ahmed is an outstanding hospitalist. We’re very happy that he is part of our medical staff.”

Ahmed has been a hospitalist at Culpeper Medical Center for two years. It is his first position following his medical residency at Mercy St. Vincent Medical Center in Toledo, Ohio.


Mountain Vista Governor’s School honors graduating seniors

Mountain Vista Governor’s School honored its graduating seniors at a banquet May 15, 2016

at Bowling Green Country Club in Front Royal, Virginia. Pictured (l-r) are five of the seven seniors from Culpeper: Jieun Kim, Eastern View High School; Mary Murphy, Eastern View High School; Nathan Stewart, Culpeper County High School; Maria ter Weele, Culpeper County High School; and Ashley Shafer, Eastern View High School. Not pictured are Elizabeth Schwab, Culpeper County High School; and Mitchell Luckinbill, Eastern View High School. Congratulations to these graduates!